Nelson College Trust Foundation

Nelson College Trust Foundation

Trust Foundation History

Established in 1978 the Nelson College Trust Foundation is an independent body established to ensure the long-term sustainability of Nelson College, committed to providing exceptional opportunities and support for the next generation of students.

By donating to the Nelson College Trust Foundation, you will be part of the journey to creating a legacy of educational excellence; providing facilities and opportunities beyond the basic education funded by central government. As a donor you select how you want to help students at Nelson College by contributing to one or more specific endowment funds within the Trust Foundation.

The Trust Foundation acknowledges the support it has received in the past from generous donors, Old Boys and other organisations which have benefited all areas of the school, including the Matakitaki Lodge, Te Ara Poutama and the Gibbons Trade Centre; as well as a wide range of co-curricular opportunities across the arts and sport..

Trust Foundation Aims

The Nelson College Trust Foundation invites Old Boys and supporters to join Nelson College in support of excellence by contributing to an endowment fund to ensure the long term sustainability of the College, providing income for distribution to the College that is used to give the students facilities and opportunities that they would not get by relying on state funding.

Government funding cannot be relied upon to provide more than the basic requirements for the school. Raising these additional funds will enable the Trust to enhance the school facilities and programmes for all the College students.

The Trust Foundation provides the opportunity for Old Boys and supporters of the College to maintain their affiliation with the College whilst furthering the opportunities for the students of today and the future.


Nelson College Trust Foundation Members

It’s administered by 10 trustees who represent Parents and Whānau, Old Boys, the Nelson College Board and College Staff, with an independent Chair.  Trustees meet 3 times through the year to administer the Trust and discuss support for the college. Two independent trustees may be invited at the discretion of elected members to become trustees.



  • Judge Tony Zohrab – Chairman, Independent
  • Tim Oughton – Acting Principal/Tumuaki
  • Simon Mardon – NC Staff Representative
  • John Palmer – Independent Trustee
  • Manoli Aerakis – Nelson College Board of Trustees
  • Tim Gall – Nelson College Board of Trustees
  • John McCaul – Old Boys’ Association
  • Mike Neale – Old Boys’ Association
  • Janine Pomeroy – Parent Representative
  • Euan McIntosh – Parent Representative


We invite you to donate now, or for more information please contact the Trust Foundation Secretary – Lucy Jackson via email at
or phone +64 03 5483099 




Lucy Jackson

Trust Foundation Liaison